top of page

Level Design Introduction

Hello, this blog post will serve as an introduction to my level design piece, the programs i am going to be using, my thoughts and feedback on my decisions, research and understanding and finally the project itself.


I have decided to use Unreal Engine 5 (UE5) since as it is a portfolio piece i won't need to do much programming (if any) and over the past 2 years, I have wanted to use UE5 since there is a lot of uses for it in the games industry. Furthermore, it's always good to learn new things and start fresh in a program that you're not familiar with.


For my assets, i have purchased Synty Studios low-poly assets, these include Prototype, Office, Farm and Town. With these assets they will allow me to develop scenes / levels and show big and small details within the scene to display a believable environment. There is a possibility of me creating my own assets (Admittedly very basic) in any scenarios where the listed Synty Studios assets can't provide. However, my focus will remain on level design of course.


Initially i have started with an office design idea, with inspiration from Payday 2, Counter-Strike 2, Black Mesa and Big Ambitions. Although what i currently have is extremely basic, i have included ideas with the flooring, signs, colour coded assets and human scale references to keep the same quality throughout the current level (Ground floor). With the final version of the project being a playable stealth "Mission" where the player must sneak around the office, with an objective to reach the top of the office block.


I am currently working full time and aim to work on this project throughout the week in my free time, with blog posts at the end of the week showing the work i have done for that week.


5 views0 comments
bottom of page